Temporary Love

The day I fell in love

Was the day you told me,

You didn’t feel the same.

That even though it was nice,

I didn’t inspire you

Or make your heart stop.

The day I fell in love

Wasn’t some beautiful perfect day.

It was cloudy and murky

A stench of things rotting.

There was no sunshine

No silver lining or rainbows.

The day I fell in love

I felt like drowning.

My chest hurt like crazy,

Eyes itching from rubbing,

My bones collapsing on itself,

Blood leaking into crevices.

The day I fell in love

I remembered the little stuff.

When you touched me it was amazing, I never knew that I had so many nerve endings.

How you grabbed my hair,

How you tasted on my lips,

How you felt against my skin.

I revered every little thing.

The day I fell in love

I didn’t hurt me,

Just because you did.

I didn’t cut myself

Or make me sick,

I stopped myself in time.

The day I fell in love

I stood in front of the mirror

And looked at me.

The black hair you liked.

The lips you kissed.

The curves you touched.

The day I fell in love

I loved my hair for its smell.

I loved my lip for its smile.

I loved my curves for its softness.

I loved my scars for its memories.

I loved me.

The day I fell in love

I realised that

I didn’t need to inspire you.

I needed myself to create me.

The first time I fell in love

Was the day you broke my heart.

Temporary Love

P.S:

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Simple but sweet. It always not nice to fall but take heart because the only way out is to get up and move on

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes that’s the only way out !

      Like

  2. Simple but sweet. It is always not nice to fall but take heart because the only way out is to get up and move on

    Liked by 1 person

  3. BeSimmons says:

    Beautifully honest.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. RONNY_99 says:

    #Intense! Well written:)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hmmm….temporary love….sounds artificial….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

