Norwegian Wood – Haruki Murakami


“Toru: What happens when people open their hearts?
Reiko: They get better.”

A depressingly beautiful novel I have read so far. I read it while travelling in train, bus, cab with so much interest that my fellow passengers had to tell me about my stations.

A story of love and loss from the perspective of Toru Watanabe. A successful, 37-year-old businessman, hears a version of the Beatles’ Norwegian Wood, and the music takes him back 18 years to his college days, the story dwells in sadness after the death of his best friend Kizuki. later he developed feelings for two different girls Naoko, Kizuki’s girlfriend, beautiful yet emotionally damaged and Lively Midori.

An amazing story of young love, I did not expect to like it that much.

And yes movie adaption is also really good.

6 thoughts on “Norwegian Wood – Haruki Murakami

    1. It depends on individual likings whether to read a book or to watch a movie. Reading a book has its own benefits. I loved the book and that’s why I watch a movie also. Go with a book first and then movie if you can! Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

